For the past 21 years The Annual Student Showcase of Films has been a platform for students enrolled in Florida high schools and colleges. The juried competition recognizes outstanding film students by presenting over $11,000 in scholarships and awards in the following categories: Feature/Shorts, Documentary, Animation, Commercial/PSA, Environmental PSA, Music Video, Screen- writing, Poster Design, "Know Difference" Mental Health Awareness (NEW), and an Audience Award.

Honoring the legacy of Burt Reynolds, the festival awards a scholarship bearing his name to a qualifying student. Additionally, the Sara Fuller Scholarship is awarded through Film Florida. Competition finalists were honored and presented with cash awards and prizes at a high profile, one-of-a-kind red carpet award show inside the Keith C. and Elaine Johnson Wold Performing Arts Center at Lynn University in Boca Raton, FL on Friday, March 11, 2016. All of the winning films will be screened in their entirety in the Student Showcase of Films Program at the Palm Beach International Film Festival. 

This program is funded by the Palm Beach County Board of County Commissioners, the Palm Beach County’s Office of Economic Sustainability, the Palm Beach International Film Festival and the Palm Beach County Film & Television Commission. Our generous sponsors include: Lynn University, Film Florida, Michael Chasin, Keep Palm Beach County Beautiful, Inc. and Information Television Network.

For more information about the Student Showcase of Films, please visit pbfilm.com or facebook.com/studentshowcaseoffilms.

This year's program will include the following winning projects:

Will Fritz, Dreyfoos School of the Arts – Bass Egg Tire Burnout  

Keep Palm Beach County Beautiful Environmental PSA

Anna Mott, Key West High School – Keep our Beaches Beautiful   

“Know Difference” Mental Health Awareness PSA

Cristian Aguiar, G-Star School of the Arts – Equality  

Music Video

Kaci Sleeth, Seminole Ridge High School – Possibilities  

G-Star Cell Phone Film Festival Award (Middle School)

Joseph DeAngelis & Jacob Meyer, Conservatory of North Palm Beach – Bully Killer 

Gabriel Souza, Florida State University – Finless  


Isabela Littger, Anna Paddock & Kriti Kaur, Ringling College of Art and Design – None of That  

Feature/Short, College

Saad Nawab, Florida State University – Frankenstein’s Light
Whitney Clinkscales, Florida State University – Hush
Yingxiang Huang, Florida State University – Isa and the Frog Prince  

Feature/Short, High School

William Stead, Harrison School of the Arts – Common Ground
William Stead, Harrison School of the Arts – Crash Course
Jesse Veliz, Calvary Christian Academy – Friend-tervention  

Audience Award Erica Criss, Key West High School – What If

My FILMS Sessions

Wednesday, April 13

5:30pm EDT